I AM TAKING A WORK SHOP!  I’m so excited! (can you tell?) Its thru clickinmoms.com titled Shooting 101 The Best Darn Beginner Course Ever.  Its taught by Lynne Rigby  and (again) I’m so excited!!

I’ve also made some changes to my blog.  I fell out of love with the “Snap Shot Raych” title and decided I wanted something a little more simple than cutesy.  Whats wrong with me?  Oh, thats right, I’m going to pull my girl-card here. 🙂

Well, a lot of wonderfulness happened in the past few weeks!  I got my craft on and made these little cuties for Halloween for the children we teach at church and for Jim’s niece and nephew.  I first looked all over the craft shops for pillow boxes with no luck.  So I bought black poster paper, cut it to the size I needed, grabbed a bowl from the cupboard and a crafting razor and first cut off a half circle making a rainbow at the top and bottom of the folded rectangles.  Then I moved the bowl and made a rainbow opposite of the rainbow edge and scored along the edge of the bowl to create an easy fold.  Free-hand cut out wings with the scrap paper and hot-gluded it all together and stuffed them with candy before folding the tops down.  Really fun!  Took about 3 hours to make 30 and considering that was all from hand, I’m pretty proud!

In trying to get this shot of the candy-holding bats, I noticed a lot about (what I think is called) Custom White Balance.  At first I had the WB around 3k, but then moved it up a couple thousand and found it was too warm.  Its fun to see how the WB really affected whether this picture was more blue vs. almost sepia.  A fun little practice shot.

Then my brother came to visit me!  Between all of my family, we all basically live at the four corners of the U.S. and we don’t get to see each other much.  I miss them with all of my heart.  So it was a real treat to have him come visit me.  He arrived in the SF airport and we decided to spend the day there.  We went to the Disney Family Museum, Ghirardelli Square and Bubba Gump Shrimp.  I have grown to love SF and wish I had taken out my camera more, but I chose to drive because I know out of all of us I seem to be the most calm driver and I wanted his visit to start out well. 🙂  And the Disney museum doesn’t allow you take photos!  I was such a sad panda.

While at Ghirardelli Sq, we visited my favorite wood shop.  I don’t even know the name of the place, but I love the works of art this man creates.  An odd factoid of this shop, though, is I am always offended when I go in there — its almost entertaining. 🙂  One year my husband and I went to SF for Christmas Eve and wished him a Merry Christmas/Happy Holidays, but found out he was Atheist and he refused to be even civil to us. :/  At our next visit he kept saying, “Everything in here is more than you can afford.”  So I bought a pair of earrings that I adored just to kinda spite him.  They were my favorite earrings… and they broke 2 months later.  While I have a love/hate relationship with this man and his store, I still admire the wood he turns into lovely pieces. (Side note, I do not care that he is Atheist.  We have friends who are Atheist and I love them to pieces, but in these friendships we have a respect for each others’ beliefs, unlike this wood-carvin’ dude.)

I loved what I learned from taking pictures in this shop.  I learned Depth of Focus and how I use it.  Even though I feel like I messed up this shot by being too close w/too wide of an aperture (notice the beak and wings are too blurry), and the WB was too warm, I learned what not to do.  Side note, notice the elegant angles carved?  This shop is filled with this creativity and talent!

I hope my brother doesn’t mind my sharing this photo, but as he’s not very visible, I think its ok.  One morning I had woke up earlier than everyone else.  As I sat on the couch, and peaked behind me a moment to see if he was waking up yet, I realized how much it meant to me to have my brother with me.  I had to capture the moment and grabbed Fantine.  We took several photos and this one I liked the best.

Speaking of taking several photos, it really bugs me I have to do this.  With this work shop, I am very hopeful I’ll be able to learn how to capture what I see within a couple of clicks without filling up my memory.

My brother went home after a nice long visit and my husband and I were sad to see him go.  We all had a great time together and it felt renewing to be around my family again.  I am always amazed at how accepting and kind my family is and how we all tend to be pretty laid back.  I know California is known for being laid back, too, but I feel like I have tensed up here than the reverse.  Maybe its because I’m not around the comfort of my family that I’ve become this way.

And here is my favorite photo of the month: of my heart, Jimbo.  I know many people know him as the loud, out-there, hilarious and thoughtless jokester.  But I get the privilege of knowing the richer side that not everyone takes the time to get to know.  I love this picture I sneakily took of him.  James is always thinking.  He’s thinking of ideas for business, or ideas for the government, or ideas for improving himself.  His Amazon Wish List is full of books teaching something.  It didn’t come naturally nor easily, but he learned to always think of me.  He’s always getting me a bottle of water, or will randomly clean the house when he knows I’m really stressing out.  He’s one of the kindest and generous people I know, but few will ever know it because he’s very private about it.  I feel honored that I get to see the side that no one else sees or knows, it makes him that much more special.  Sometimes I rage and the fury comes out when I see unkind and thoughtless individuals who really hurt him.  He has taught me that many people have a thoughtful side, but we are often too impatient to take the time to appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

